Happy 1st Birthday, Elijah!

My Bubba,

One year old today! I can’t believe it has been a whole year since you decided to it was time to meet us while we were on holidays at a farmhouse in Victoria! What an adventure that was. And what an adventure this year has been.

I never understood the sheer volume of love a heart could hold before you made our family complete.

I know I love you because even though you are (let’s be honest) a pretty terrible sleeper and wake me frequently through the night, my heart still skips a beat when you smile at me each morning.

I know I love you because I actually kind of like changing your nappies (believe me, this is love!) because it allows me to be close to your face, to talk and sing and play with you.

I love the way you point to the freckle below my collarbone and exclaim, “dis!” as if you are announcing this remarkable freckle to the world.

I love it when you march stiff-legged, giggly and achingly cute to the bath holding your daddy’s hands, your golden head like an over-sized bauble atop your little nudie body. And then I love the way you kick up a joyful frenzy in the bath, even though it drives your sister nuts.

I love it that you laugh every single time your daddy walks in the room. And that laugh. Oh. My. Goodness.

I love the way that you go all coy and bury your face in my neck when someone smiles at you.

I love that you love your big sister so much. It delights my heart to see you playing together, even though the peaceful moments only last as long as it takes you to mess up her Little People game.

I love the way you rub your eyes with your fists when you’re tired.

I love how content you are to just sit and potter and watch everything that’s going on around you. You are such a happy baby, and believe me, I don’t take that for granted.

 I wish that nothing difficult or troublesome ever had to happen to you. I wish that I could promise you calm and happy days always. But all I can do is promise to be there, listening, praying and holding you. (Right now I can’t imagine a time coming when you won’t let me hold you. Yesterday, I heard my cousin tell her 8-year-old son, “You have to let me kiss you because you came out of my stomach!” That sounds entirely fair-enough to me!)

Happy First Birthday, Elijah! I can’t wait to see what adventures the second year of your life will bring!

Love from,

Your Mum x

 

 Image

 

 

2 thoughts on “Happy 1st Birthday, Elijah!

Leave a Reply

